.CO to launch eight European languages as IDN in October - GO.CO Blog

CO Idea IDN

The .CO Registry is delighted to reveal the global launch of the European Internationalized Domain Names (IDNs) for the .CO namespace. This is the newest batch of languages launched this year and we are simply thrilled. Since January, .CO has launched 15 IDN language tables because we realize IDNs can be an important building block towards creating a multilingual Internet. The accessibility of additional global languages in the .CO namespace is intended to increase local interest and use. Now in our third year and with over 1.5 million domain names under management, .CO has truly become the domain of choice for startups and entrepreneurs around the world.

Here are some of the nitty-gritty details found in the “fine print.”

  • We are launching 8 languages – Russian, German, French, Portuguese, Polish, Latvian, Lithuanian, Hungarian (Spanish is already available for registrations)
  • The launch date is 15 October 2013, 00:00:00 UTC, which is to Monday, 14 October, 7pm EST. (UPDATED:  15 October 2013, 18:00:00 UTC, which is Tuesday, 15 October 2013, 2pm EDT)
  • The complete .CO product family will be launching with the languages (.CO, .com.co, .net.co and .nom.co).

The .CO Registry will not be conducting a formal trademark sunrise, landrush or grandfathering period for IDNs. If you own one or more trademarks and wish to take proactive steps to protect those marks, we urge you to contact your registrar or reseller as soon as possible.

If you want to learn more about the policies and documents available to registrars, resellers, and the general public, make sure to view our IDN downloads page. If you have any further questions, be sure to email us at info@go.co or shoot us a tweet at @dotCO.